1. Welcome to Pit Bull Chat!

    We are a diverse group of Pit Bull enthusiasts devoted to the preservation of the American Pit Bull Terrier.

    Our educational and informational discussion forum about the American Pit Bull Terrier and all other bull breeds is a venue for members to discuss topics, share ideas and come together with the common goal to preserve and promote our canine breed of choice.

    Here you will find discussions on topics concerning health, training, events, rescue, breed specific legislation and history. We are the premier forum for America’s dog, The American Pit Bull Terrier.

    We welcome you and invite you to join our family.

    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

    If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

    Dismiss Notice

NC: NC Alert: Hearing on SB 460 Likely Next Week!

Discussion in 'Dog Ordinances & Laws' started by Vicki, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. Vicki

    Vicki Administrator Administrator

    NC Alert: Hearing on SB 460 Likely Next Week!

    [Thursday, June 17, 2010]

    The AKC Government Relations Department has learned that the House Finance Committee will likely consider Senate Bill 460 on Thursday, June 24.

    It is essential that all North Carolina dog lovers call AND e-mail members of the House Finance Committee TODAY. Tell them that responsible dog owners and breeders oppose SB 460, and respectfully ask them to also oppose it and not allow it to move forward in any form.

    This bill, which was introduced and passed out of the Senate last year, could be passed into law within the next week or so if the House Finance Committee does not hear from enough responsible dog owners and breeders.

    For your convenience, contact information and scripts are available at the bottom of this alert.

    The AKC is gravely concerned with a number of provisions of Senate Bill 460 as currently written, including:

    * Vague definition of "commercial breeder". The bill defines "commercial breeder" as someone who owns 15 or more intact female dogs "of breeding age" and 30 or more puppies. It is not clear if this is a cumulative number owned over a lifetime, or the number on a property at one time. Additionally, if you live in a residential area and the state defines as a commercial breeder, you may be placed in violation of local zoning and property laws.

    * North Carolina already has effective laws criminalizing animal negligence and cruelty, including a new law passed this week (S 254) which imposes tough new felony penalties on cruelty. SB 460 will do nothing to protect the health or welfare of dogs in North Carolina. North Carolina's existing animal welfare statutes, if properly enforced, actually do a better job of protecting dogs than the provisions of SB 460 would, if the bill were passed.

    * Creation of a new, unfunded mandate for counties. SB 460 gives the state authority to initiate investigations on complaints against commercial breeders, but it makes county authorities responsible for conducting the investigations and follow-up work from the state's motion. It does not, however, provide funding for this. In this difficult economic climate, it is unnecessary and unwise to create a costly new program that requires North Carolina counties and their taxpayers to find the funding to properly implement it.

    * False and misleading legislative findings. The bill's legislative findings are based on unsubstantiated claims and state that the bill does not interfere with a person's right to participate in hunting and working activities with their dog. However, the bill only exempts those who board or train – not those who breed – dogs for show, hunting, working, etc.

    The American Kennel Club strongly supports the humane treatment of dogs and believes that all dogs should be kept in a safe and healthy environment. We also believe that any regulations should not punish responsible owners and breeders who take their responsibilities seriously. As currently written, Senate Bill 460 is vague, unnecessary, and costly to responsible breeders and North Carolina counties.

    How You Can Help:

    Call and e-mail the members of the House Finance Committee today and respectfully ask them to oppose Senate Bill 460. If you e-mail, please also call the legislators.
    *Sample scripts and letters are available on the AKC site.

    The contact information is as follows:

    Representative Paul Luebke (Senior Chairman)
    Phone: 919-733-7663
    E-mail: Paul.Luebke@ncleg.net

    Representative Pryor Gibson (Chairman)
    Phone: 919-715-3007
    E-mail: Pryor.Gibson@ncleg.net

    Representative William L. Wainwright (Chairman)
    Phone: 919-733-5995
    E-mail: William.Wainwright@ncleg.net

    Representative Jennifer Weiss (Chairman)
    Phone: 919-715-3010
    E-mail: Jennifer.Weiss@ncleg.net

    Representative Dewey Hill (Vice Chairman)
    Phone: 919-733-5830
    E-mail: Dewey.Hill@ncleg.net

    Representative Hugh Holliman (Vice Chairman)
    Phone: 919-715-0873
    E-mail: Hugh.Holliman@ncleg.net

    Representative Julia Howard (Vice Chairman)
    Phone: 919-733-5904
    E-mail: Julia.Howard@ncleg.net

    Representative Daniel McComas (Vice Chairman)
    Phone: 919-733-5786
    E-mail: Danny.McComas@ncleg.net

    Representative Larry Womble (Vice Chairman)
    Phone: 919-733-5777
    E-mail: Larry.Womble@ncleg.net

    Representative Kelly M. Alexander, Jr.
    Phone: 919-733-5778
    E-mail: Kelly.Alexander@ncleg.net

    Representative Curtis Blackwood
    Phone: 919-733-2406
    E-mail: Curtis.Blackwood@ncleg.net
    Representative John Blust
    Phone: 919-733-5781
    E-mail: John.Blust@ncleg.net

    Representative R. Van Braxton
    Phone: 919-715-3017
    E-mail: Van.Braxton@ncleg.net

    Representative Becky Carney
    Phone: 919-733-5827
    E-mail: Becky.Carney@ncleg.net

    Representative Tricia Ann Cotham
    Phone: 919-715-0706
    E-mail: Tricia.Cotham@ncleg.net

    Representative Bill Faison
    Phone: 919-715-3019
    E-mail: Bill.Faison@ncleg.net

    Representative Dale Folwell
    Phone: 919-733-5787
    E-mail: Dale.Folwell@ncleg.net

    Representative Larry Hall
    Phone: 919-733-5872
    E-mail: Larry.Hall@ncleg.net

    Representative Sandra Spaulding Hughes
    Phone: 919-733-5754
    E-mail: Sandra.Hughes@ncleg.net

    Representative Earl Jones
    Phone: 919-733-5825
    E-mail: Earl.Jones@ncleg.net

    Representative David Lewis
    Phone: 919-715-3015
    E-mail: David.Lewis@ncleg.net

    Representative Darrell McCormick
    Phone: 919-733-5654
    E-mail: Darrell.McCormick@ncleg.net

    Representative William McGee
    Phone: 919-733-5747
    E-mail: William.McGee@ncleg.net

    Representative Bill Owens
    Phone: 919-733-0010
    E-mail: Bill.Owens@ncleg.net

    Representative Johnathan Rhyne
    Phone: 919-733-5782
    E-mail: Johnathan.Rhyne@ncleg.net

    Representative Deborah Ross
    Phone: 919-733-5773
    E-mail: Deborah.Ross@ncleg.net

    Representative Mitchell Setzer
    Phone: 919-733-4948
    E-mail: Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net

    Representative Paul Stam
    Phone: 919-733-2962
    E-mail: Paul.Stam@ncleg.net

    Representative Edgar Starnes
    Phone: 919-733-5931
    E-mail: Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net

    Representative Thom Tillis
    Phone: 919-733-5828
    E-mail: Thom.Tillis@ncleg.net

    The AKC Government Relations Department will provide updated information to you via email on at American Kennel Club - Government Relations including Canine Legislation. For additional information, contact the AKC's Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.

    American Kennel Club - NC Alert: Hearing on SB 460 Likely Next Week!

     
  2. bluebrindle

    bluebrindle Little Dog

    is this a bad bill
    ? for the pit bulls?
     
  3. CoolHandJean

    CoolHandJean Krypto Super Dog

    This is a Bad Bill for all dog Owners.

    It has been shot down twice, and even taken off the table, but now I guess the HSUS got it back on the table.

    The AKC, Sporting Dog Organization (forget their actual name), and the Vet Association (again forget their actual name) all helped fight it in the past. Hopefully it can be shot down again.

    Here is the past thread on it.
    http://www.pitbull-chat.com/showthread.php?t=26716
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 18, 2010
  4. bluebrindle

    bluebrindle Little Dog

    what will it do ?
     
  5. CoolHandJean

    CoolHandJean Krypto Super Dog

    They claim it will only affect people with multiple dogs used for breeding, but from my understanding it gives ACO too much power, and it is a step toward S/N laws.

    Plus the only good parts of the bill are already laws on the books, so, no need for more.
     
  6. XXX

    XXX Good Dog

  7. shadowwolf

    shadowwolf Good Dog

    Woo-hoo!
     

Share This Page