Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. My dog keeps breaking the fence...Need help

Hi all...
    As a working student, I am still living at home. I have a black metal fence that is about 5 feet tall that has a gate that locks to keep my pitbull on the side of my house when I'm not home, if we have guests, or if my father is working on a project in the backyard. She has more than enough room to run and play on the side of the house, plus shade and her home.
    Whenever I put her on the side of the house and lock the fence, after a few hours, I will come out there and the door of the fence is BROKEN and she is in the backyard.
    I don't know what to do because I live with my parents and my dad put the fence in to help me out, but she keeps breaking it. I tell her no everytime she does it, plus I will say no no no whenever I hear her even messing with the gate.
    This is driving my dad crazy because it is hard to put the gate back into place, and it makes a very loud bang as the metal gate hits the ground and it is driving my neighbors crazy.
    If I cannot get this behavior corrected, my dad will kick me and my dog out.
    Any advice on what I can do?:confused:

Make a chain spot. Pit bulls are escape artists. A good chain spot, a dog house, and access to water and your dog will be fine.

Chaining Info - General Dog Discussions

How to make a chain setup - Products Equipment

3. Chaining is illegal in many areas so check your local dog laws or contact your local animal control, they should know the laws. You could crate her when your not home. Pit bulls are known for being escape artist.

4. it is illegal in California ugh. I might try crating again I know she hates it though

Images
    To the best of mt knowledge, you may tether your dog for up to three hours here in California. Don't know if that would be enough time ...

What is it about crating she does not like?