Can dogs eat birds?

This may sound stupid, but I sometimes see birds in my backyard that fall out of their nests and my dogs go crazy and try to eat them or whatever. Sometimes I will shoot birds with a bee bee gun out of the tree next to my bedroom window because they wake me up/keep me up(sorry bird lovers) and they will still have a little life left in them when I walk my dog outside the fence. I would think eating birds is not good, but if it is not I would like to know. As of now I just throw them away once I recover them.

2. I would think dogs can eat birds but i'm no expert on that. On another note, if you are going to shoot birds, please make sure they are dead and not suffering.

It is not legal to shoot birds here in Texas, but I figure the dogs could eat them... if you are shooting them and not killing them, you need a little more practice with your weapon. One shot, one kill or stick to paper

I try, if they are not dead I finish it. I just don't throw them away alive. I have a somewhat of a heart. ;)

Quote Originally Posted by Obed View Post
    It is not legal to shoot birds here in Texas, but I figure the dogs could eat them... if you are shooting them and not killing them, you need a little more practice with your weapon. One shot, one kill or stick to paper
    It's a bee bee gun, they roll in the air so I try my best.

mine can, seemed fine. just some feathers in her poop.

Milew: Hi there...I did some research for you and to the best of my understanding, there are likely no dangers to your dog's habit of eating birds.

However, I would wonder if your dog eats birds, will he also eat other dead animals? If that is the case, you do need to worry because there are many different parasites that can be passed in this way. Some of them could even affect you....Roundworms and Baylisascaris (raccoon roundworms) are two that come to mind.